Thailand University Teacher Extraordinaire

The trials and tribulations of a young English teacher

The Pants Retro Blog: Another Week Goes By

on Tue,Nov,2011

Another week goes by

12/12/2004 6:54:02 PM

What a bizzare week this has turned out to have been. I’ve finally sorted out my train ticket home, which I’m excited about. I haven’t been home in more than 3 months now so I’m more than ready to go back. I can’t wait to see my friends and family again, and I can’t wait for it to be Christmas which is one of my favourite times of year. Before I can go home I’ve still got 2 essays to do and an exam to sit, so i’m not breaking open the champagne (or fosters in my case) just yet.

On tuesday I went for a meal with Vicki (a friend from my course) after our workshop, though I must point out it wasn’t a date. We ate at Weatherspoons where the food was absolutly amazing. We also had an amazing alcoholic chocolatey cocktail with cream on top, which I reccomend to absolutly everyone!

After the meal I went to the union with Jen (where she works) to keep her company for the comedy night. I had a great time, I got to see 3 very different comedians. The 1st guy was Mark Olver who was impressive and managed to get a great reaction from the audience. The next guy Gary Delaney was okay, he told wayyy too many one liners though. They saved the best for last though, when I heard the guy’s name was Earl Okin I was expecting a middle aged accountant lookalike and thats exactly who we got! When he brought a guitar out with him on stage I feared the worst. But he was absolutly fantastic. He sang a great rendition of teenage dirtbag along with some of his own blues material. If you ever get the chance to see him play GO! You wont be disapointed!!!

Much to the obvious disapointment of the University football teams reserves I’m still injured and unable to make it to practice. I managed to hurt my neck quite near the begining of term in a way I’m not too proud of. It was the end of a cracking night out and everyone else stumbled off home. I was adament I wanted chips however, and realising there was only ten minutes till everywhere closed I dashed off on my own to one of the few trustworthy takeaways in Plymouth. I was running full speed (which is quite impressive considering I was thoroughly drunk) when It happened. Out of nowhere a tree branch appeared and I unwittingly went straight into it. I was travelling at quite a speed and hitting the branch took me completly off my feet and put me on my back. Thankfully because of the alcohol I had consumed I didn’t feel a thing and made my way to the takeaway to find it was shut. The next morning I was in quite a lot of pain as you can imagine!

I’m slowly fighting back against insommnia and managing sleep at reasonable hours these days. I just wish I wasn’t having so many vivid and strange dreams. Well you cant have everything!

Meanwhile, in 2011…

This is an interesting post to analyse several years on. Was it or wasn’t it a date with Vicki? I was adamant in this post that it wasn’t, but I think I was hoping it was at the time. A few months went by, and she ended up seeing someone else, who she is still with to this day. A missed opportunity for my younger self.

It’s strange to read that food at Weatherspoons was “absolutely amazing”. I doubt anyone would say that now.

There are far too many exclamation marks in this entry. I’m glad I learned to phase them out of my writing.

This post gives a good example of my legendary clumsiness. My housemates forced me to see a doctor, who diagnosed whiplash. It took more than six months for my neck to recover, and I still very occasionally get neck pain. Ah, to be young and stupid again…

Leave a Reply

