Thailand University Teacher Extraordinaire

The trials and tribulations of a young English teacher

The Joy of a Day Off

on Tue,Mar,2011

“I work to live, I don’t live to work”, is a quote on a sticker on the door of a colleague’s office. It’s a philosophy I very much believe in, and I usually find myself reading these words every morning before entering my own office. That wasn’t the case this morning though as I stayed away from work and instead enjoyed a rare lie in. Words cannot express just how good it felt to be in bed instead of teaching an 8 o clock class on a Monday morning.

Now that all classes are over, all exams are marked, and all grades have been submitted for Thai program courses, I’m down to 6 hours of teaching a week. I’ll still have some International program exams to mark this week, but compared to the last 6 months, the pressure is very much off at work.

It was officially into the afternoon when I finally rolled out of bed today. Instead of a few hastily eaten biscuits and a bottle of water, I was able to take the time to prepare a bowl of cereal and a cup of tea for breakfast. I’m like an owl, sleeping before midnight on a Sunday is out of the question, so my time on a Monday morning is usually at a premium.

If films like Ferris Bueller’s Day Off are to be believed, a day off is a magical thing,  full of almost unlimited possibilities. Without planning though, a day off usually becomes hours of sitting around watching TV and surfing the internet. This is essentially what my day off was, but I don’t regret it for a moment. It’s been so long since I had the time to do nothing for hours. There was even time for me to give some love to my long suffering apartment and to do cleaning. I of course didn’t bother, but it was nice for the opportunity to be there.

Tomorrow I’ll be back at work, and I’ll dive into yet round of exam marking. After a day of rest and relaxation though, I’m strangely looking forward to it.

One response to “The Joy of a Day Off

  1. Choco lover says:

    Great day! Someon must be jealous to know that! 🙂

    I think I’ll start writing my own blog soon.

    Thanks T.Eric

Leave a Reply

